UGOM’S NDAGIRE CINDY SPEECH TOUCHED HEARTS AT THE 3RD AUGUST 2014 GAY PRIDE KERKDIENST(CHURCH SERVICE) IN AMSTERDAM

Aftermath of the beautiful 2014 Canal Gay Pride Amsterdam, Saw the Gay Pride church service at the Keizersgracht church in Netherlands’ capital Amsterdam. Uganda Gay On Move (UGOM) group was represented and one of the members, Ndagire Cindy who is a proud Ugandan lesbian touched hearts in her speech she gave to the audience from allover the world.
The Kerk dienst (church service) that was attended by various guests from many parts of the world in respect to the pride festival. Countries such as Belgium, Russia, Ukraine France among others were all present at this colorful event.

Ndagire Cindy who is one of the Uganda Gay On Move (UGOM) and a proud lesbian spoke on behalf of the UGOM community and other members of the group were present. Her speech warmed hearts of many that attended the service.

I have been fasting and praying for change in my country ever since i came in the Netherlands after i fled my motherland in 2013. I am happy change is coming day by day. I give my special thanks to Reverend Wielie Elhorst who hosted me, Moses Walusimbi the founder and the chairman of UGOM and his vice chairperson and founder Matovu Julius, Robert Katende our lovely Media spokes person and our general secretary Bugembe Rhona, and my friend Faridah Nalumansi who is proud for who she is. I thank you guys for holding the rainbow flag high. I can not forget to thank the activists back home who have courageously fought the Anti homosexuality law day and night.( Kasha Jackie Nabagesera, Pepe Julian Onzima, Stella Nyanzi, Frank Mugisha and our lawyers Freda Aleka. For it was you guys who bropught in the 1st August success and victory against the infamous anti gay law in Uganda. That is indeed a wonderful job. I can not forget the tremendous contribution Reverend Wielie Elhorst and the Keizersgracht kerk has done towards the UGOM LGBT community here in the Netherlands. Thank you for hosting me. God bless you all. Says Cindy
This wonderful event was made possible by the support of organizations such as LKP, CHJC, Keizersgrachtkerk, Protestantse Kerk Amsterdam, Amstel Gospel Choir, ERV.

A great poem was read by Cindy which all drove all her situation into every ones heart and for that she was applauded by the congregation. thus;
When i ask you to listen to me and you start giving me advice, you have not done what i asked

when i ask you to listen to me and you begin to tell me why i should not feel that way, you are trampling on my feelings.

When i ask you to listen to me and you feel you have to do something to solve my problem, you have failed me, strange as that may seem.

Listen! All i ask is that you listen. Don’t talk or do- just hear me

Advice is cheap; 20 cents will get you both Dear Abby and Billy Graham in the same news paper. And i can do for myself; i am not helpless. Maybe discouraged and faltering, but not helpless.

When you do something for me that i can and need to do for my self, you contribute to my fear and inadequacy.

But when you accept as a simple fact that i feel what i feel, no matter how irrational, then i can stop trying to convince you and get about this business of understanding what is behind this irrational feeling.

And when that is clear, the answers are obvious and i do not need advice. Irrational feelings make sense when we understand what is behind them.

Perhaps that is why prayer works, sometimes, for some people– because God is mute, and He doesn’t give advice or try to fix things.

God just listens and lets you work it out for yourself.

So please listen, and just hear me. And if you want to talk, wait a minute for your turn- and i will listen to you.

(Author Unknown)
10590733_808340925863271_1326526038_o

Special thanks to all those that attended this event from within and outside of the Netherlands.

“Change is coming”

10579764_808392795858084_1195497791_n

10570639_808335959197101_792051706_n

By UGOM

Leave a Reply

